39   126
26   319
39   398
40   435
37   442
20   253
35   238
31   458
37   308
46   96

One Day In December, Josie Silver // Book Review

This months read from the Mumsnet Book Club is One Day In December by Josie Silver. It’s a sweet, festive, romantic novel with twists and turns that give the classic formula a modern update. As it’s November 1st and Halloween is officially over I think now is the perfect time to introduce a little Christmas into our lives with a warming, winding read.

 

“Laurie is pretty sure love at first sight doesn’t exist. After all, life isn’t a scene from the movies, is it?

But then, through a misted-up bus window one snowy December day, she sees a man who she knows instantly is the one. Their eyes meet, there’s a moment of pure magic…and then her bus drives away.

Laurie thinks she’ll never see the boy from the bus again. But at their Christmas party a year later, her best friend Sarah introduces her to the new love of her life. Who is, of course, the boy from the bus.

Determined to let him go, Laurie gets on with her life.
But what if fate has other plans?

Following Laurie, Sarah and Jack through ten years of love, heartbreak and friendship, One Day in December is a joyous, heart-warming and immensely moving love story that you’ll want to escape into forever, for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Diamond and Nicholas Sparks.”

 

 

At first, I was a little uneasy because One Day by David Nicholls is one of my favourite books in this genre. Obviously the title is similar and the way both follow a story across the years is another common thread. After a few chapters that niggle went away and I started to really connect with the story and the characters.

I especially loved Silver’s rich description and how she honed in on every little detail – especially during the opening chapter, Laurie’s birthday surprise and the post Christmas shopping drink… I really felt like I was there sharing those moments in all their glory.

For me, the greatest love story was actually the relationship between Laurie and Sarah. I loved their easy banter, the story of how they met and how they complimented each other. I think a lot of people will relate to the ebb and flow of their relationship throughout their uni years, into the world of work and beyond.

 

 

I won’t go into the plot too much here because, honestly, I’m not about to ruin what is probably going to be the best novel this Christmas. If you’re a sucker for Love Actually or The Holiday then order One Day in December, draw the curtains, cancel plans, light a cinnamon candle and fall into this story.

 

Share:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.